• 208 times

Minister Inaugurates New Governing Council For FUTMinnaFUTMinna

The Minister, Mallam Adamu (middle) in a warm handshake with FUT, Minna Pro-Chancellor, Prof. Olufemi Odekunle (right) and the NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Rasheed (left) while Prof. Akanji watches with keen interest.

The Honourable Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu has inaugurated the newly constituted governing council for the Federal University of Technology, Minna, along with those of 22 other federal universities, with the charge to live above board in the discharge of their duties.

The Minister stated this during the inauguration ceremony held at the Idris Abdulkadiri Auditorium, National Universities Commission (NUC) Secretariat, Abuja on Tuesday, May 10, 2017.

Mallam Adamu stated that the inauguration came on the heels of the completion of the tenure of the immediate past governing councils appointed by the Federal Government in April, 2013.

“It is worth mentioning that the selection process leading to the inauguration we are witnessing today has been painstakingly accomplished in order to ensure that only men and women of character, integrity,  and knowledge, who will add value to the Nigerian university system are constituted into the governing councils of federal universities,” he disclosed.

He disclosed that the governing councils are charged with the responsibilities of approving the financial guidelines of the universities; determining the terms and conditions of appointment of the Vice-Chancellors and Principal Officers of the universities as well as annually reviewing the universities’ budgets to monitor their performance and assess the overall impact of their implementation, among others.

The Minister tasked the council members to join the war against corruption, adding that any corrupt practice by councils including condoning cases of indiscipline by staff, is bound to have a destructive effect on the system and, on the products of the system.

“If any governing council fails in its statutory responsibility of properly managing the governance crisis in its university, including appropriate sanctions on erring officers, after following due process and due diligence, such a governing council shall be dissolved for incompetence in line with the provisions of the Act appointing you,” the Minister warned.

“In view of the current economic situation in the country, I call for the prudent management of the scarce resources, while efforts should be intensified to broaden the Internally Generated Revenue Base of each university,” the Minister emphasised.

Speaking at the event, the Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission (NUC), Prof. Abubakar Rasheed charged the new council members to be committed in the discharge of their duties, saying that their actions can make or mar the progress of the universities.

Prof. Rasheed assured the newly inaugurated council members of NUC support in the discharge of their duties.

In his address at the event, the Chairman, House Committee on Tertiary Education and Services, Comrade Suleiman Aminu urged the council members to work closely with the Vice-Chancellors in order to ensure unity of purpose.

He assured the council members that the legislature would continue to champion the call for increase in budgetary allocation to federal universities in the country.

Speaking with Campus News after a brief meeting with Management and other council members, the Pro-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Olufemi Odekunle said he would bring his over forty years’ experience in the university system to bear in advising the University on issues that would enhance its mission and vision.

The Pro-Chancellor expressed joy with the fact that the University is not known to be an abode for cultists or rancorous university characterized with crises, adding  that he would work with other council members in line with its mandate as enshrined in the University laws and statues.

Other members of the University Governing Council are: Abdulrahman Muh’d Alfa, Alh. Musa Jibrin Madigawa, Chief Hon. Halims Agoda and Barr. Gafar Babatunde Alabi.

Prof. Odekunle is now the 8th Pro-Chancellor of the University. It will be recalled that Chief Edwin K. Clark served as the pioneer Pro-Chancellor from 1983-1984. Late Dr. Suleiman Kumo served as the second Pro-Chancellor from 1984-1993 while Alh. Muhammed Kaloma Aliyu served from 1993-1994 and late Alh. (Dr.) Hamidu Alkali served between 1994-2000. Others are HRH Alh. (Dr.) Muhammed Zayyanu Abdullahi, Emir of Yauri who served from 2000-2005; Chief B. M. Wifa (SAN), from 2005-2009 while Prof. Rufai Ahmed Alkali served from 2009-2017.

The appointment is for a period of four years.


Prof. Sadauki

Prof. Abubakar Sadauki

In a related development, the Dean, School of Physical Sciences (SPS), FUT, Minna, Prof. Abubakar Sadauki has been inaugurated as the Chairman, Governing Board, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Ogun State.

The ceremony took place yesterday at the Idris Abdulkadiri Auditorium, National Universities Commission, Abuja, where the  Honourable Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu inaugurated the Governing Boards of 25 Federal Polytechnics.